Homemade Fudgsicles

This post is for my dad–a true Fudgsicle fanatic.  :)

Food blogs this time of year churn out recipes for frozen goodness at an alarming rate.  My Google reader feed has been awash in these recipes, but alas, I have not been able to try any of them for lack of equipment.  Until now.  While my very own Kitchenaid ice cream attachment remains a (near constant) daydream, I recently treated myself to a set of Tovolo Goovy Pop popsicle molds.  Now, now I could finally satisfy my craving for homemade frozen goodness!

What better way to break my molds in than with a recipe for homemade Fudgsicles?  When I saw this recipe on Baking Bites, I knew I had to try it.  With no preservatives and no ingredients I can’t pronounce, these popsicles are ridiculously easy to make and even more ridiculously delicious.  If you are a chocoholic (or related to one), I recommend whipping up a batch of these, stat!  Cold, creamy, chocolatey, with exactly the right Fudgsicle texture…frozen hard enough to last a while, but soft enough to get some nice big bites to melt on your tongue.

The only downside to this recipe is that it is MESSY when you get to the pouring-into-molds part.  Then again, is that really a downside?  I mean, as a culture, have we gotten ourselves into such a state that we can’t handle a little bit of mess from time to time?  If the mess really bothers you, you can always use a small funnel and a ladle to fill your molds.  If you’re like me, though, a Fudgsicle-stained apron (and, erm, face, and hands…) is a culinary badge of honor.  :)

Mmmph.  About these photos.  The camera I am currently using appears to be having a tantrum, and thus was quite uncooperative today.  That, and I am learning that popsicles are just dang difficult to photograph, especially by oneself!  Not a total loss, though.  I think the photos do an adequate job of conveying the texture and richness of the fudgsicles, though they’re certainly not foodgawker-worthy.  On a happy side note, I discovered that my photo-editing software can generate collages.  So, enjoy!  :)  (If you want to see a really great photograph of these popsicles, check out Baking Bite’s photo!)

Homemade Fudgsicles
Recipe from Baking Bites
Makes 6(ish) Fudgsicles
Ingredients:
2 cups milk
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
2/3 cup granulate sugar
2 Tablespoons agave nectar
1 teaspoon vanilla
Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan.  Stir over medium heat just until sugar and cocoa have dissolved.  Pour into molds and freeze until solid.

Note: if you don’t have popsicle molds, never fear!  You can use little paper cups or ice cube trays and plain popsicle sticks for the handle.

2 responses to “Homemade Fudgsicles

  1. Wow those looking amazing. I love fudgsicles so I just may try these out. Just have to buy some good popsicle molds.

    • Thanks! :) Y’know, you can just use Dixie cups and popsicle sticks (or even plastic spoons) if you don’t want to spring for popsicle molds! The molds are great, though. I got mine for $10 at Bed, Bath, and Beyond. Let me know how these turn out if you do end up trying them! We ate our last ones today, so time to wash out the molds and make a new batch. :)

Leave a Reply

