Poblano Shredded Pork Tacos

If you know me at all, you know I love me some pulled pork.  I’m not picky about it either.  I’ll take pork at a high-end barbeque joint, or pork that someone cooked in a crockpot with a bottle of barbeque sauce.  I love pulled pork!  So, when I saw this recipe for pulled pork tacos over at delish, I knew I had to give it a try.  After all, it combines two of my favorite things: shredded pork and Mexican flavors.  And who doesn’t love tacos?  Food you eat with your hands is always fun.

This pulled pork is really, really, really yummy.  The recipe as written below has quite a few changes from the original.  I added the poblano pepper, and I also added the cooking step to soften the veggies and toast the seasonings.  If you want a more streamlined recipe with fewer steps, check out the original over at delish.  Honestly, though, this recipe was pretty quick for me to throw together.  As written below, the recipe produces tender, tasty pork that is not spicy at all.  I like a little bit of heat for tacos, so I added several good glugs of hubby’s green jalapeno hot sauce to the shredded pork at the very end.  Just the right kick of heat, without being unbearably hot.  Alternatively, you could tweak the heat to your tastes by swapping peppers.  You could use jalapenos or red fresno chilis instead of the poblano for a bit more kick.  In fact, I was going to use red fresnos today (they are my favorite chili pepper, I think), but the poblanos looked so good at the grocery store I decided to change things up a bit.

I served the shredded pork with flour tortillas, chopped tomato, some light sour cream, and a little sprinkle of chopped cilantro on top.  Super yummy, super juicy…do I really need to say more?  Actually, I will say something more…these tacos are so yummy that there is taco sauce on my digital camera now.  Just thought you should know that.

Poblano Shredded Pork Tacos
Adapted from delish who adapted from the Neelys

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon canola oil
1 small onion, chopped
1 poblano chili pepper, chopped
3 large cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 heaping tablespoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon honey
Juice of one orange
Juice of one lime
1 2-pound pork roast, cut into 3 or 4 evenly-sized chunks
salt & pepper, to taste
Flour tortillas, warmed
Garnishes as desired (sour cream, hot sauce, salsa, cheese, tomatoes, onions, lettuce, etc.)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325°F.

In a dutch oven or large oven-safe saucepot, heat oil till just shimmering.  Add onion, poblano chili, and garlic, and cook on medium heat until softened, about 5 minutes.  Stir in the oregano, chili powder, and cumin, and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add chicken broth, tomato paste, honey, and citrus juices.  Stir to combine.  Submerge pork chunks in the veggie mixture.  On medium heat, bring mixture to a simmer. Cover dutch oven and transfer to oven. Cook, covered, until the pork is tender and shreds easily, about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Remove the meat from the dutch oven to a cutting board. Put dutch oven on stove over medium heat, and reduce the liquid until slightly thickened 5-8 minutes. Meanwhile, shred the meat and return to the sauce mixture. Allow pork to soak up remaining liquid. Season with salt & pepper as desired. Serve with flour tortillas and garnishes, as desired.

Leave a Reply

