Double Chocolate (Not All That Bad For You) Cookies

As per my previous post, I have been exceedingly frugal this week.  Frugalness means, in my case (and among other things), no splurging on spontaneous chocolate as I go throughout my weekly routine in town.  With no chocolate in sight, a major craving hit today.  So, I decided to see what I had in my pantry that could be turned into something delicious.

I discovered that I have a nearly-full carton of unsweetened cocoa powder.  I also knew I wanted to make cookies, preferably.  When my internet service finally stopped cutting out on me this morning, I Googled “cocoa cookies” and discovered this recipe on MyRecipes.com.  As a side note, I’ve never used this website before today, but it certainly seems like it’s worth a more thorough browse.

I made several significant changes to this recipe.  Once again, instead of using all-purpose flour only, I used whole wheat for a portion of the required flour amount.  I also added some wheat germ.  Next time I will try adding in some flax seed and cutting a bit of the oil, just to see what happens.  Instead of using butter, I used 3 3/4 tablespoons of canola oil.  I would have tried coconut oil, but alas, my coconut oil jar is empty.  Additionally, I used fat free plain yogurt rather than the low-fat called for in the original recipe, and I also stirred in 1 one-ounce square of semisweet chocolate, chopped.  You know, for the antioxidants. 

Several things to note.  First, these cookies are – OHMYNOM – delicious.  They are soft and chewy, with just a slight crunch on the tops and edges.  The chocolate pieces inside are melty and wonderful.  I actually think the whole wheat flour added something to the texture, something I like.  Each cookie is so rich and dark that one or two should knock any chocolate craving right out.  While these are certainly delicious at any temperature, I went traditional and enjoyed my serving warm from the oven with a mug if ice-cold low-fat milk.  YUM.  Chocolate craving satisfied. 

Double Chocolate (Not All That Bad For You) Cookies
Adapted from Cooking Light via myrecipes.com
Makes about 16 cookies

Ingredients:
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon wheat germ
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 3/4 tablespoons canola oil
7 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup fat free plain yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 ounce semisweet chocolate, chopped

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, combine the flours, baking soda, wheat germ, and salt.  Set aside.
In a medium bowl, stir together the oil, cocoa powder, and sugars until the mixture looks like wet sand.  Stir in the yogurt and the vanilla.  Pour the flour mixture and the semisweet chocolate into the yogurt mixture all at once.  Stir until a soft dough forms, being careful not to over-mix.  (Overmixing will cause your cookies to come out tough.  You only want to stir the dough until all the flour on the bottom gets incorporated.)

Working quickly, scoop the dough by rounded tablespoonfuls.  Using your hands (quickly) shape each scoop into a somewhat smooth ball.  Place balls of dough on baking sheet about 2-3 inches apart.  Bake 8-11 minutes until slightly puffed and almost set.  (Cookies will still be soft in the center).  Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheet for about 3 minutes, or until firmed up somewhat.  Once firm enough to move, place cookies on a wire rack to cool completely.  Repeat with remaining dough.

Note:  If your dough is too sticky to shape with your hands, just place it in the fridge for 10-15 minutes until it firms up.  Then, working quickly, roll tablespoonfuls of the dough into balls and place on baking sheet.  Bake as directed above.

Leave a Reply

